SGF Inaugurates 15 Member Planning C’ttee For Nigeria’s 63rd Independence Celebration

By Miriam Humbe

Secretary to the Government of the Federation, (SGF), Senator George Akume on Thursday, inaugurated a 15 member planning committee for Nigeria’s 63rd independence anniversary.

The 63rd Independence Anniversary Celebration Inter-Ministerial Committee inauguration was held at the SGF’s Conference Hall in Abuja.

Senator Akume said: ” The celebration of the 63rd Independence Anniversary provides an opportunity to reflect on the contributions and sacrifices of our national heroes and heroines who fought for the independence of Nigeria from the colonial masters.

“The Celebration also affords the government an opportunity to showcase its achievements in dealing with myriads of challenges in social and economic sectors confronting the nation.

“Based on the foregoing, it is expedient to note that time is of essence regarding the preparation for the 63rd Independence Anniversary Celebration.”

The proposed activities for the celebration would be subject to finalization by the Inter-Ministerial Committee and would involve the following to be anchored by sub-committees:

*World Press Briefing 25th September

*Church Service 1st October

*Juma’at Service 29th September

*Symposium/Public Lecture 28th September

*Presidential Broadcast 1st October

*Parade 2nd October

Akume said the Terms of Reference of each Sub-Committee and list of members would be sent by the Secretariat while Sub-Committee Secretaries would present their budgets for consideration and approval as soon as possible.

The 63rd independence anniversary celebration planning committee has the following membership:

Minister of Information and Culture, Minister of Interior, Minister of Finance and Coordinating Minister of the Economy, Minister of Foreign Affairs, Minister of the FCT, National Security Adviser and the Inspector-General of Police.

Others are the Director-General, Department of State Services, Commander, Guards Brigade, Permanent Secretary, General Services Office, Permanent Secretary, Special Services Office, Permanent Secretary’, Ecological Project Office, Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Health and Permanent Secretary, Political and Economic Affairs Office.

Share your stories and pictures or advertise with us:
Whatsapp: +2348187780299 Email:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *